Header Ads

Rabbitohs Team announced for Return to Redfern Match Against Papua New Guinea

The South Sydney Rabbitohs are pleased to announce their team to take on Papua New Guinea in the fifth annual Return to Redfern pre-season match being played on Saturday 9 February at 6pm at the Australian Technology Park Performance Centre at Redfern Oval.
Rabbitohs Head Coach Michael Maguire has named a squad of 18 players for his side’s first assignment of the 2013 season, including a mixture of players with international experience, first grade experience, and exciting young athletes who are all pushing for selection in the Club’s remaining pre-season fixtures and the round one team to take on the Sydney Roosters in the season opener on Thursday 7 March. Coach Maguire will also reward NSW Cup and under 20s squad players by adding to his Return to Redfern squad closer to the game.

Rabbitohs Members and supporters will be able to truly welcome South Sydney junior Beau Champion back to home turf when he partners Chris McQueen in the centres. New Zealand international and 2013 Rabbitohs recruit Bryson Goodwin has been selected on the wing, with Justin Hunt getting an opportunity to play at five-eighth alongside exciting young halfback, and former captain of the South Sydney under 20s side, Luke Keary.
George Burgess will start at prop alongside fellow first grader Josh Starling, with new recruit Thomas Burgess set to play his first game for South Sydney from the interchange bench. Thomas will follow in the footsteps of brothers George and Sam who both played their first games for the Rabbitohs in previous Return to Redfern clashes.
Ben Lowe, Jason Clark and Dave Tyrrell also feature in the side to take on a Papua New Guinea outfit boasting 32 Test matches of experience in their 20-man squad, which will be coached by former international Adrian Lam.
To watch the first Maguire's Line Up video for season 2013, please press play on the video player above.
Tickets for the Return to Redfern match are on sale now, with limited grandstand and general admission tickets available to Rabbitohs Members, and general admission tickets available to the general public.
The Return to Redfern match is always a family-friendly day full of traditional elements such as the first jersey presentations made to new recruits and the ceremonial kick off by South Sydney legend Eric Simms.
The non-playing members of the Rabbitohs NRL squad will also be on hand to mix with the crowd and sign autographs, plus there are many activities for the kids and the whole family.
To purchase tickets, simply click here or call (02) 8306 9922 from locations in Australia or (+612) 8306 9922 from outside Australia.
The Return to Redfern match is usually a sold out event so Members and supporters of the Rabbitohs and Papua New Guinea are encouraged to pre-purchase tickets to avoid disappointment.
The Papua New Guinea squad is:
1) Josiah Abavu Tony
2) Matthew Puke
3) Richard Kambo
4) Jason Tali
5) Albert Patak
6) Dion Aiye
7) Isreal Eliab
8) Rodney Pora
9) Charlie Wabo
10) Gonzela Urakusu
11) David Loko
12) Mark Mexico
13) Glen Nami (c)
14) Westley Mohukule
15) Larsen Marabe
16) Enoch Maki
17) Wartovo Puara
18) Esau Siuna
19) Roy Kela
20) Thompson Tete
Coach - Adrian Lam
Powered by Blogger.