Header Ads


PNG Kumuls :Getty Images 
Media Niugini Limited, through EMTV, has won the exclusive rights to broadcast the 2013 and 2017 Rugby League World Cups.

The rights also include the 2014 and 2016 Four Nations contests.
England and Wales will play host to this year’s 14th Rugby League World Cup challenge since its inception in 1954.

EMTV will begin broadcasting matches between 14 nations, including Papua New Guinea, from the 26th of October, to the 30th of November.

Chief Executive Officer of EMTV and Media Niugini Limited, Bhanu Sud, said winning the broadcast rights for the next two Rugby League World Cups, and the next 2 Four Nations Cup, is an indication of EMTV’s commitment to quality television broadcasting while giving viewers the game they love to watch.

Rugby League, as a sport, has strong, passionate roots in PNG, and recent developments in the code are all aimed at lifting the standard domestically.

EMTV CEO Mr Sud also added that it is the right time for a commitment such as this, which will bring PNG’s favorite sport, at the world level, to its viewers.

This year’s Rugby League World Cup will see PNG in one of four groups made up of the top rugby league-playing nations of the world.

PNG is placed in group B alongside defending World Champions New Zealand, France and Samoa.

GROUP A: consists of heavyweights, Australia, England, Fiji and Ireland

While in GROUP C: Scotland will battle against Tonga and Italy and in GROUP D, Wales, Cook Islands, USA are sure to put up a fair contest.

All 28 matches of the World Cup will be played at 21 venues in England, Wales, France and Ireland.

The Four Nations features four of the strongest international sides in the game.

Borne out of the tri-nations tournament in 2009, the Four Nations is a stern test for some of rugby league’s finest players.

The Four Nations features teams from Australia, New Zealand and England.

The fourth team will be the Pacific Cup Champions in 2014 and the European Champions in 2016.

Powered by Blogger.