Header Ads

Lam names strong PM's XIII Line up to take on Australia

PNG Prime Minister’s XIII coach Adrian Lam has named a strong line up to take on the Australian PM XIII in Kokopo on Sunday.
Enga Mioks half back Roger Laka who played a starring role for Team Kumul Reds last weekend is in the starting lineup.
Ase Boas will play five eight with the experienced Jesse Joe Nandye and Israel Eliab in the centres to face the experienced Australian pair of Brent Tate and Josh Morris. Nineteen year old Sydney Roosters U20 player Nene Macdonald who joined the camp yesterday is on one wing while local hero Francis Paniu is on the other.
Charlie Wabo will lead the side. “The team is a blend of youth and experience and is one of the strongest sides selected from the Digicel Cup,” PNGRFL CEO Brad Tassell said yesterday.
He said all 21 players in the squad will take the field at some stage of the game.
James Segeyaro aill arrive in Kokopo at noon today to join the team.
Meanwhile the Australian team assembled in Cairns yesterday and fly into Port Moresby this morning. While on the ground they will deliver the “strong men respect women” message before flying off to Kokopo where a traditional Tolai welcome will await them. Australian coach Tim Sheens will also be accompanying the Laurie Daley coached side.
Tassel said looking at the Australia side, it would be the strongest side that has ever come to PNG probably in the last 10 to 15 years.
He said the Kumuls were working extremely hard and were looking forward to the game. 
Tassel said he was very happy with the preparations and with the effort of the players. “The management feels they have got the right mix of players,” he said. The teams will attend a dinner tonight. Tomorrow they will visit schools and communities to give the message “Strong men respect women”. 
The main curtain raiser on Sunday will be between the New South Wales U17 team and the New Guinea Islands U17 team.

The Line up:

 Josiah Abavu
2. WellingtonAlbert
3. Jesse Joe Nandye
4. Francis Paniu
5. Nene McDonald
6. Isreal Eliab
7. Ase Boas
8. Joe Bruno
9. James Segeyaro
10.Enoch Maki
11.David Loko
12.Larson Marabe
13.Paul Aiton
16.Mark Mexico
17.Roger Laka

Powered by Blogger.