Header Ads

Micheal Jennings named in Kangaroos 24-man World Cup Squad

Jemmings included in Kangaroos World Cup Squad. Photo/Getty
Cameron Smith will lead the Holden Kangaroos to the 2013 Rugby League World Cup with the Australian Rugby League Commission today announcing a 24-man tour squad that features three debutants and three members of the NRL Grand Final teams.
Holden Kangaroos coach Tim Sheens today joined ARLC Chairman, Mr John Grant, at Rugby League Central to announce a squad including players from 14 NRL clubs.
Sydney Roosters Premiership-winning back-rower Boyd Cordner, Sharks Dally M Prop of the Year Andrew Fifita and Canberra Raiders back-rower Josh Papalii are the uncapped players in the squad, which also features Cordner’s Premiership-winning team-mate Michael Jennings and Manly’s Clive Churchill Medal winner Daly Cherry-Evans.
The squad contains 14 players from the side that beat New Zealand 32-12 in the 2013 mid-year test at Bruce Stadium, with injury ruling out Justin Hodges, Kurt Gidley and Anthony Watmough.
Robbie Farah edged out Roosters hooker Jake Friend for the back-up hooker role.
The Kangaroos squad has five players remaining from the team that lost the 2008 World Cup Final 34-20 to New Zealand at Suncorp Stadium; Billy Slater, Greg Inglis, Johnathan Thurston, Cameron Smith and Paul Gallen, while Brent Tate was also part of the 2008 squad.

Clubs represented: 
Cowboys: 4 players.
Storm and Sharks: 3 players each.
Titans, Broncos and Roosters: 2 players each.
Sea Eagles, Wests Tigers, Knights, Eels, Rabbitohs, Dragons, Bulldogs, Raiders: 1 player each.

The squad is: 
NRL Club
Junior Club
Cameron Smith (c)
Melbourne Storm
Logan Brothers
Paul Gallen (v/c)
Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
Greg Bird
Gold Coast Titans
West Maitland Red Dogs / Maitland Pumpkin Pickers
Darius Boyd
Newcastle Knights
Mudgeeraba Redbacks
Daly Cherry-Evans
Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
Mackay Brothers
Boyd Cordner
Sydney Roosters
Old Bar Pirates
Cooper Cronk
Melbourne Storm
Souths Acacia
Robbie Farah
Wests Tigers
Enfield Federals / Leichhardt Wanderers
Andrew Fifita
Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
Griffith Waratahs
Jarryd Hayne
Parramatta Eels
East Campbelltown Eagles / Cabramatta Two Blues
Greg Inglis
South Sydney Rabbitohs
Bowraville Tigers
Michael Jennings
Sydney Roosters
St Marys
Luke Lewis
Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
Blacktown City
Brett Morris
St George Illawarra Dragons
Kiama Knights
Josh Morris
Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Kiama Knights
Nate Myles
Gold Coast Titans
Southern Suburbs / Gordonvale
Josh Papalii
Canberra Raiders
Logan Brothers
Corey Parker
Brisbane Broncos
Logan Brothers
Matthew Scott
North Queensland Cowboys
Longreach Tigers
Billy Slater
Melbourne Storm
James Tamou
North Queensland Cowboys
Levin Knights /
Paddington Tigers
Brent Tate
North Queensland Cowboys
Redcliffe Dolphins
Sam Thaiday
Brisbane Broncos
Townsville Brothers
Johnathan Thurston
North Queensland Cowboys
Souths Sunnybank

The Holden Kangaroos will assemble for a half-day camp in Sydney on Thursday, October 10, which will feature a luncheon with members of the 1963 Kangaroos.
The players will return to Sydney on Sunday, October 13, and hold an open training session at WIN Jubilee Oval, Kogarah, starting at 1pm ahead of the Junior Kangaroos-Junior Kiwis match at 2.30pm.
The Holden Kangaroos will depart for the United Kingdom on Monday, October 14, and will open their Rugby League World Cup campaign against England at Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium on Saturday, October 26, followed by pool matches against Fiji at Langtree Park, St Helens, on November 2 and Ireland at Thomond Park, Limerick, on November 9.

Powered by Blogger.