Header Ads

Must win game for PNG Hunters

THE Papua New Guinea Hunters’ finals hope is on the line on Sunday when they take on third-placed Wynumm Manly Seagulls at Kougari Oval in Brisbane.
The match will be their first road trip in four weeks. Coach Michael Marum said the side understood the importance of the match but had stressed to the players the need to focus on their jobs.
“It’s a must win, we know that, but all I want my players to do is just concentrate on training this week and getting over the injuries picked up from the game against Ipswich,” Marum said. Marum said dropped duo David Loko and George Benson had a week to go before returning to consideration for the team.
“David and George will sit out another week. David’s over in Lae and will play for the Mioks, while George is here with us.”
Marum said he was confident players carrying injuries would be alright to play on Sunday.
“Esau (Siune) has a bruised shin and Garry Lo has a sore hamstring but I’m positive both will play this weekend.”
The Hunters have been on a roll with four straight wins at home and have momentum heading into the match but will face a tough Wynnum Manly outfit who are finding form ahead of the finals. They beat fellow Seagulls club and top five side, Tweed Heads, 32-4, last Sunday.
The match is being billed as the game of the round and will be televised live through Channel 9 in Australia as well as through Imparja, EMTV, Hitron and Chanel 8 in PNG.
The Hunters are expecting a capacity crowd of PNG supporters at the match, which is shaping up as a game of grand final proportions for the in-form Hunters in their run to make the top five.
Coach Michael Marum has named an unchanged starting 13 with seven players on the bench. Adam Korave returns from Injury and will be pushing for selection in the final 17.
The kick-off is at 2pm.
Hunters: 1.Israel Eliab, 2. Garry Lo, 3. Thompson Teteh, 4. Jason Tali, 5. Adex Wera, 6. Dion Aiye, 7. Roger Laka, 8. Timothy Lomai, 9. Wartovo Puara, 10. Esau Siune, 11. Lawrence Tu’u, 12. Sebastine Pandia, 13. Brandy Peter, 14. Noel Zeming, 15. Willie Minoga, 16. Stanton Albert, 17. Albert Patak, 18. Adam Korave, 19. Joe Bruno, 20. Edward Goma
Powered by Blogger.