Header Ads

Hunters coach retains winning squad against Norths Devils

Coach Michael Marum has rewarded his SP PNG Hunters players who helped end a luckless run against Northern Pride by retaining them for this weekend’s away match against Norths Devils at the Bishop Park.
Until last Sunday, reigning premiers Pride were the only side the SP Hunters had yet to beat in the Intrust Super Cup competition.
That has changed after that 36-16 victory at Kalabond Oval, Kokopo, now leaving 2014 runners-up Easts Tigers as the only team the Hunters have yet to beat. That opportunity becomes available in Round 21 in early August.
But for now Marum will have to prepare his team as best as possible to overcome Norths Devils with the PNG side to be continuously reminded that they will have to lift to another level when they play away from home in order to improve their record on the road.
Teams which host the SP Hunters shift into another gear and the PNG team have to focus harder on whatever game plan coach Marum has devised for the entire match to trouble the Devils.
Norths are backing up from a close but heart-warming 26-24 victory over CQ Capras and the SP Hunters will have to go out with all guns blazing to overcome the home side.
Marum has made only one change bringing in Enock Maki, back from injury, on the interchange bench in place of Timothy Lomai.

The SP Hunters on 12 points sit in fifth position but how teams are perched on the premiership table can be deceiving and 12th placed Norths (6 points) will be out to prove exactly that.

PNG Hunters: 1. Stargroth Amean 2. Oti Bland Tony 3. Noel Zeming 4. Thompson Teteh 5. Adex Wera 6. Israel Eliab (c) 7. Ase Boas 8. Henry Noki 9. Wartovo Puara 10. Esau Siune 11. Kato Ottio 12. Brandy Peter 13. Adam Korave 14. Roger Laka 15. Lawrence Tu'u 16. Willie Minoga 17. Enock Maki 18. Atte Bina
Coach: Michael Marum

Norths Devils v PNG Hunters at Bishop Park on Sunday, May 17 - 2.30pm
Norths Devils: 1. Ryan Millard 2. Kainga Turner3. Dylan Galloway 4. Joel Bailey 5. Rogan Dean 6. Sam Foster 7. Sean Loxley 8. Matt Mizzi 9. Krys Freeman 10. Francis Molo 11. Rhett Webster 12. Brett Greinke (c) 13. Todd Lowrie 14. Byron Creighton 15. Billy Solah 16. Richard Tuala 17. Josh Afoa
Coach: Mark Gliddon

Powered by Blogger.