Header Ads

Paul Gallen, Semi Radradra, Blake Ferguson in Kangaroos squad for New Zealand Test

Paul Gallen has earned an international recall in Mal Meninga's first Kangaroos squad, while Parramatta winger Semi Radradra is one of four Test debutants named in the squad.
The Kangaroos are set to face New Zealand in the Anzac Test match in Newcastle on May 6, with new coach Meninga looking to make his presence felt from the outset.
There was speculation Gallen would not be part of the new-look Australian set-up, but Meninga has opted for the Cronulla and New South Wales skipper despite his two-year absence from the Test arena.
Meninga said Gallen deserves his spot in the team and will add something to the side that has been missing.
"We need a hard edge that has been missing the last few games," Meninga said.
"That leadership and that hard edge that he brings to the team are important."
Darius Boyd has been selected at full-back ahead of the out of sorts Greg Inglis, who instead will shift into the centres.
"This is a well-balanced squad and I'm extremely happy with it," Meninga said.
"We have some experience as well as a handful of younger players who I am looking forward to seeing in this arena."
Four debutants have been selected - Radradra, Michael Morgan (Cowboys), Josh McGuire (Broncos) and Blake Ferguson (Roosters).

Redemption for Ferguson

The selection of Ferguson gives him a chance of representative redemption.
The Roosters and former Raiders centre played one State of Origin game for the Blues in 2013 before he was dropped from the squad following a sexual assault charge which resulted in a two-year good behaviour bond.
Meninga said is it an important game for the squad and the start of preparations for the 2017 World Cup.
"I want to ensure the players have pride in the national jumper and my goal is to establish the Kangaroos back at the top of the international rankings," Meninga said.
"We have a Four Nations tournament at the end of this year and then a World Cup in 2017. This is the start of an important journey for the Kangaroos."
Kangaroos squad: 1 Darius Boyd, 2 Semi Radradra, 3 Greg Inglis, 4 Josh Dugan, 5 Blake Ferguson, 6 Johnathan Thurston, 7 Cooper Cronk, 8 Matt Scott, 9 Cameron Smith (c), 10 Paul Gallen, 11 Josh Papalii, 12 Matt Gillett, 13 Corey Parker. Interchange: 14 Josh McGuire, 15 Michael Morgan, 16 James Tamou, 17 Sam Thaiday. 18th man Aidan Guerra, 19th man Michael Jennings.

Source: ABC News
Powered by Blogger.